The Pisa Sleep Award – Eleventh Edition

Published in ESRS Newsletter November 2014


Dear ESRS Members,

We are happy to announce that we have received notification from the Scientific Board of the Pisa Sleep Award 2014 that the winner of the eleventh edition of the Award is Professor Pier Luigi Parmeggiani.

Professor P. L. Parmeggiani was the fourth President of our Scientific Society from 1984 to 1988. During his illustrious scientific career he was a pioneer in the field of sleep and thermoregulation, inspiring researchers all over the world.


Lino Nobili
ESRS Secretary


Pisa, 1 September 2014


The Pisa Sleep Award, inaugurated in 1994, has now reached its eleventh edition. The Board proposed P. L. Parmeggiani for the prize (five proposals and therefore, a majority). Professor Pier Luigi Parmeggiani, Professor Emeritus and Past Director of the Department of Human and General Physiology, University of Bologna, made outstanding contributions to the development of sleep medicine. Prof. Parmeggiani will give his Magistral Lecture at the University of Pisa on November 7th, 2014.

The Pisa Sleep Award, a joint initiative by Professor Piero Salzarulo and Professor Luigi Murri, is awarded every two years and is sponsored by the School of Medicine, Pisa University.

The purpose of the Pisa Sleep Award is to acknowledge a European scientist whose career was devoted to the study of sleep, including its physiology and its disorders, and whose contribution has represented an outstanding advance in sleep medicine.

Previous recipients have been: Michel Jouvet (1994), Elio Lugaresi (1996), Alexander Borbély (1998), David Parkes (2000), Torbjorn Akerstedt (2002), Peretz Lavie (2004), Giulio Tononi (2006), Irene Tobler (2008), Claudio Bassetti (2010), Mario Giovanni Terzano (2012). 

Members of the Scientific Board of the Pisa Sleep Award 2014

Luigi Murri, Honorary President

Philippe Peigneux, President European Sleep Research Society, Bruxelles
Liborio Parrino, President Italian Association of Sleep Medicine, Parma
Roberto Amici, Research Coordinator of the Italian Association of Sleep Medicine, Bologna
Piero Salzarulo, Cofounder of the Pisa Sleep Award
Mario Petrini, Director of the Department of Clinical and Experimental Medicine, University of Pisa
Enrica Bonanni, Director of the Sleep Centre, University of Pisa